The Most Dangerous Games: The Doors of Your Mind

doorsPreviously: The Hooded Man Ritual

Although The Doors of Your Mind has been reposted in a number of places, I’m pretty sure it first appeared on the r/ThreeKings subreddit roughly two years ago. Shortly after The Three Kings game itself took r/NoSleep on by storm, a spin-off sub devoted solely to “recipes” and experiences for similar games was created. It played host to a huge flurry of activities right after its creation; since then, it’s slowed down somewhat, with new posts being fewer and arriving further between. It’s still an interesting place to visit, though, so check it out if you haven’t already.

This game is also sometimes referred to as “Doors to the Mind,” although it shouldn’t be confused with the creepypasta “Gateway of the Mind.” According to redditor u/brickell, it’s not nearly as dangerous as many of these sorts of rituals tend to be; it’s still best to proceed with caution, though. After all, you never know what might be lurking in the corners of your own head.

As always, play at your own risk.


  • 1 principal.
  • 1 partner.


  • A quiet room.
  • A few candles.
  • Matches or a lighter.
  • An alarm clock.
  • A pillow (optional).
  • A recording device (optional).


The Prelude:

  1. Begin whenever you feel most relaxed.
  2. Find a quiet room, dim the lights, and set up your candles. Use the matches or lighter to light the candles, being mindful of fire hazards as you do so. If you would like to record your experience, set up your chosen device and begin recording.
  3. Set the alarm clock to go off one hour from the time you begin.
  4. Have your partner sit on the floor; you yourself should lie down with your head in your partner’s lap, facing up. You may use your pillow if you like. Close your eyes.
  5. Have your partner begin rubbing your temples in slow, circular motions. The tempo should be steady, and the overall feeling relaxing. Keep your eyes closed.
  6. Your partner will function as your guide for this next portion. Have them speak the following words to you: “You are at one end of a very long corridor. There are numerous doors on both sides of this corridor, spanning the entire length. I want you to explore these doors and the rooms behind them. Describe to me what you can see, hear, touch, and feel with great detail.”

The Exploration:

  1. At this point, you should find yourself in the corridor. Traverse it, exploring the doors that line it and the rooms kept behind the doors; as you go, describe each and every thing you encounter. There are no rules as to how best to explore the corridor and its rooms; you may, however, find the following tips helpful:
    • Pay as much attention to yourself as to your surroundings. What are you wearing? What’s in your pockets? Do you have anything meaningful about your person? Whatever you find, it might be useful.
    • Take a good look (and feel, and so on) of each door before you open it. What color is it? What size and shape is it? What does the handle look like? Is the handle an unusual temperature? These details and more might provide hints about what waits behind the door itself.
    • You do not have to open every door. Trust your instincts: If you feel it would be unwise to enter one… don’t open it.

The Return:

  1. When the alarm goes off, your partner should guide you back to the real world. The exact words spoken to do so are up to your partner, but in all cases, the corridor should recede and any doors that have been opened should be closed by the end.
  2. Once you have returned, blow out the candles and turn off the recording device (if using). You may listen to your recording at your leisure; or, you may choose never to listen to it. It’s entirely up to you.

Additional Notes:

  • This game may be played as many times as you desire. After you have played it enough times, you may no longer require the alarm clock; your partner should be able to determine when you are ready to make your way back.
  • If you enter a room filled with clocks, do NOT touch any of the clocks and leave the room immediately.
  • If you encounter an old woman, do NOT speak to her and leave the room immediately.
  • If you encounter a man in a suit — particularly one who inspires feelings of unease or dread —describe him immediately to your partner. Your partner should then end the session, regardless as to whether the alarm has gone off. If your partner is unable to end the session, do NOT speak to him and leave the room immediately.
  • Some doors may be locked, blocked, or otherwise barred. Check your person to see if you have a key; if you don’t, however, do not worry — you may simply not be ready to deal with whatever is behind it yet. Leave the door closed and move on.
  • It is not unheard of for personages encountered in specific rooms to lock you inside. One player recounted an instance in which his partner — in this case, his sister — was required to shake him violently in order to pull him back into reality.

A Word of Advice:

Tread carefully. Your mind is not always your friend.

The Doors of Your Mind: FAQ.

[Photo via]

48 thoughts on “The Most Dangerous Games: The Doors of Your Mind

  1. If I try it, my best friend would probably be ‘partner’ and perhaps we take turns being principal and partner but to bring us back both of us would say something like:
    Or encountering the crazy dude in a suit:

    1. I dunno…..I’m nervous! I have more negative and scary thoughts than positive and… I just dunno! It sounds pretty cool though!😆

  2. OKAY let me say LET’S DO THIS AGAIN. I lead myself through it, without a partner, and I’ll tell you how it went.
    I checked myself for anything useful, only finding a flashlight and a few candies. I’m wearing slacks, a tight shirt, and a jacket. My shoes seem big. While performing the game I was actually wearing a fandom tee and jeans. I’m utterly creeped but still somewhat conscious. I just wander around, and all the doors seem…weird. I find a blue coloured door that looks pleasant enough, and I find it is filled with clocks. I hurry out and leave. Somehow some voice said ‘tick-tock, goes the clock. Tick-tock.’ I feel creeped and run. I meet a man in a suit but I’m not worried because he seems to be pleasant and doesn’t give me dreadful feelings. I just feel a bit of a message telling me to leave the room because he seems peculiar, I just leave the room, not ending the session yet, however. I leave and it starts to seem dark so I use my flashlight. I meet the old woman in a room and she locks me in. She begins to grab a weapon of sorts and right away I wake myself up. I survived this game, wooo!

    1. I actually played the game with my sister and it worked on me (she could play it to but for some reason no matter what it didn’t work) and I was about to go in a room when a door randomly opens down the hallway and so I go to it. In the room is a man only he wasn’t like what is described in this his figure was pitch black and he had a lighter black smoke covering him. Weirdest part? I wasn’t scared of him, more of intrigued and I for some reason unexplained said leave I didn’t mean to and it’s not what I wanted either one of us to do. But I would like to point out that every time I played I knew what I was saying and I knew what was going on between the two places and yet at that point for some reason I said leave?

  3. I played and I’m scared shitless. This is what happened. As soon as it started I was falling and I landed in my families corpses. I screamed and jumped off the pile, instantly falling again through a dark abyss. I saw a door half burnt and by listening close I heard screams. I obviously left it. After a while of a oddly odorless corridor I noticed that I was being followed. I turned around and saw my partner. We started talking and he said “turn around quickly!” I turned round and saw the old lady carrying my corpse whilst the suited man was talking to her about how he was sorry how their ‘son’ had died. I shouted at them and they shot at me but the lady had threw a knife at me. I fell to my knees crying. Holding my wound. I woke up in a hospital bead…

    1. Aww…I feel like when..if..I play this game, this is what will happen to me…My mind is way to fucked up to play this game…Regardless, I still want to play this game.

    1. The whole point of the game is to get a thrill of seeking what’s in your mind, and anything you may encounter in this experience may tell you something about yourself that you never knew.

    2. As the others said, it can be seen as a form of thrill seeking and good for stories but if you do it with a friend or at a party ( as my friends and I had a get together today where we did the ritual ), it’s actuall a nice and interesting way of getting to know a person.

  4. I have some questions…
    1: Can you use a cell phone as an alarm clock?
    2: What if your partner is unable to wake you?
    3: Can any harm come to you in the corridors? And if so, does it cross over onto you in real life?
    4: Can you die playing this, if all my questions come true?

    1. Yes so long as you can set the alarm.

      Then you will have to rely on yourself to wake up. You must be willful enough to wake yourselk my friend.

      And not physically but with any deep trance pain it WILL feel real and might even convince your brain you are dying. causing things to shut down.

      As such possibly.

    2. 1. Do NOT substitute a cell phone as a alarm clock.
      2. Your not actually asleep when you’re doing this, but if your partner cannot bring you back to reality, the alarm clock certainly will.
      3. Unless you physically harm yourself in reality when you’re doing this, harm in the corridor or any of the rooms will not crossover in real life.
      4. You technically COULD die from this, getting mentally scarred can lead to death, but unless your mind is so twisted and warped, you can’t really die from this.

      Hope this helps!

  5. It says if you meet the man or old lady to leave the room immediately….Should you close the doors or just leave them open? Wouldn’t they be able to follow you? What if when you open one of the doors, they are both standing right infront of the door? What if they’re all in the same room? Too many questions…so little info to turn to

    1. Close the door after making sure you weren’t followed. Check the room to make sure they’re still there, and listen for distant footsteps in the corridor, because yes, you can be followed—mind you, not by anything that doesn’t already exist somewhere in a deep dark recess of your brain. But yeah, if you don’t want to open that can of worms, close the door. Also, keep in mind that once you close a door, you cannot EVER open it again without the help of the lady, and you really don’t want the lady’s ‘help’; the price is not worth paying. Also, regarding the no-go places, your gut will let you know when you’re standing in front of one of those doors in the form of crippling sensations of dread, so you won’t find anything unless you want to/are stupid enough to. If you talk to anybody but your guide, you’re in too deep. To get away from them, slam the door in their face, keeping in mind that you’ll find them in places that your mind doesn’t want you and your soul to find. Some things are best kept hidden y’know. If they’re all in the same room, slam the door. If in doubt, slam the door (only from the outside!)

  6. I have a few questions:
    1: Why should you leave if you find a man in a suit or old lady?
    2: I have played this before and I seemed to glitch a lot, what does that mean?
    3: I have heard about NOT going through a room that has a black door and I was wondering why?
    4: I have also heard that if the handle of the door is really cold or really hot NOT to go in it and again I was wondering why?

  7. For somebody with emotional trauma or emotional disorders, is anything in the “doors” other than the old woman or man in the suit that are capable of hurting you or deepening any psychological problems? Are the feelings of unease or dread just feelings? Or a warning?

    1. Possibly. My cousin and I have both played this twice, and she was in the same corridor both times, whilst I wasn’t.

  8. So, I did this. Things got strange. (I didn’t remember most of it, but this is what my partner said) for the first five to ten minutes things were pretty normal, with nothing evil or scary, just the strange things that tend to lurk in the mind.
    Then I opened a door that was a fading cyan. He said I described the handle as a rusting antique brass lever ‘contraption.’ I opened it because it felt safe. When I was young I had a reoccurring dream of a house in a field with a door like that, and inside was always a dusty but inviting sunlit kitchen.
    That was not the case now. I opened it and inside was a giant cat. It had kind of a pointed face, was grey with white bits, and very large ears. My partner said that the way I described it reminded him of a giant version of the Pokèmon called Glameow, but as a realistic cat. I did not move away but I did not enter. For the entire rest of the session, I described that cat. I said things like ‘she wants to understand me the same way some scientists study worms’ and he said that I constantly repeated that she was big enough to swallow me whole. I also described her eyes a lot, and my partner very specifically told me that I said: “her head is high above mine, held regally as she gazes at me. I can’t move from her gaze, but she won’t hurt me if I don’t get closer. She doesn’t really care about me…”
    Am I broken? I’ve never owned a cat as most of my family is allergic, but animals are often very friendly towards me, even notoriously mean or aloof animals. Can somebody interpret this for me?

    1. I could be wrong, but sounds like an evil female jinn.
      Don’t think about them, they will be aware.
      What you choose to do with this info is in your own hands, but if I were you, I would leave the affair as it is. The consequences aren’t worth it, especially spiritually-speaking.

    2. I think you may have a deep want to have a pet but it seems like too large a responsibility for you inside your head. I could be wrong but you should believe more in yourself!

  9. I would so play this game but I have a few problems with this. 1.) I’m not strong enough to do it by myself because id never be able to wake myself up. 2.) the only people I’d trust to help me do this would either freak out because I can’t even get her to run around in Skyrim because she doesn’t want to hurt the animals but the other person would probably slap me awake and I don’t react well when I wake up to both being slapped and an blaring alarm clock… Also, what would happen if you walked up to the suit man and flicked him on the nose..? I mean that’s a stupid question but if you don’t speak to him buy still bother him, will anything happen

  10. I played this game last summer with my younger sister; she was my guide. I don’t actually remember much of the incident–in fact, I completely forgot that it happened. I only remembered some time ago when I picked up one of my older drawings. Immediately after the game, I had drawn some of the people I saw. I had to ask my sister who they were when I found the picture again. She described the game to me and was shocked that I didn’t remember, considering how unsettled I was afterwards. She said I wouldn’t even let her play. Anyway, my drawing depicted:

    An old woman in a chair (she was smiling sweetly, and at the time of playing we weren’t aware that she was dangerous, but my sister advised me to pass her anyway. I wonder what would have happened if she hadn’t).

    Three people, having an argument (I think it was a father, a daughter, and the daughter’s boyfriend. The boyfriend wasn’t really arguing though–I think he just looked uncomfortable. Maybe the father didn’t approve of their relationship? I don’t know what that has to do with me, however).

    A tall, sad young man (my sister said that I wanted to help him, because he seemed so, so sad. He apparently followed me around for a short period of time, until he sat down in a room with a TV. She said she never trusted him, but I liked him very much).

    A young business man (he shook my hand and talked very fast. He never stopped smiling. He reminded me of the stereotypical New Yorker. I couldn’t tell if he was my agent or if he was trying to sell me something).

    A painting of a crying woman (her tears ran over the frame and down the wall, and her eyes followed me. My sister said she guided me out of that room immediately, just because it was unnerving).

    A college-age boy, holding a red solo cup (my sister told me one of my rooms had a party, and I had stepped on his foot. When I tried to apologize, he just stared at me. I think it has to do with my social anxiety? Or maybe a fear of older boys and men? I’m not sure).

    And a man in a suit (he was drawn with a long, long shadow following him in my picture. My sister said that I had described him to her in great detail, down to the “hungry?” look on his face, but now I don’t even remember the color of the suit).

    If you read all of this, I appreciate it. Maybe you could help figure out who some of these people are or represent? Thank you. Do you like brownies? Have a virtual brownie.

  11. Can anyone clarify with me if you can hear your partners voice once you are in there? it only says that you can hear them at the start and the finish. also can someone give me a list of things to look out for? (good and bad, list them please!)

    1. We tried this with two of my friends and yes, unless you’re in too deep ( as someone else described ), you should be able to hear your friend. That or they can help influence your decisions if things go wrong ( which is what we did with our second friend ). Aside from what’s listed in the instructions, I would really watch out for anything that makes you/the principle uncomfortable or scared. The moment you start to feel that skel thing is wrong or a gut feeling that you shouldn’t touch something, avoid it as it’s probably for the better

  12. I played this with a friend once. It took much convincing to get her to play this, but it went like this:

    Me: What are you wearing?

    Friend: (whispers after 7 sec) I don’t know

    Me: You don’t know?

    Friend: (whispers after 3 sec) yes

    Me: Okay, what color is the door to the left of you?

    Friend (whispers after 5 sec) yellow

    Me: Does the room give you bad, good, or no vibes?

    Friend: (whisper after 9 sec) no vibes

    Me: Can you go in it?

    But then I got a text from my Dad telling me to come home for supper so I never got to see the room😦

  13. It wouldnt work for me but it did to my partner. There was a door to the celing. Hafter finally being able to go there a kid with a kife made her fall back down the way she came. I tried to make her describe what was hapenning. With no awser from her, i woke her up.

  14. I really want to play this, and I feel like any of the guides I would have (all of the options being close friends) would be really into this. But I’m wondering, can there be multiple people in the room with you as you guide or play this?

  15. The rules say that, if you see a man in a suit, you should describe him and then leave. Why not just leave?
    Also, did anyone ever talk to the man in the suit/talk to the old woman/touch a clock in the room full of clocks … and then return to tell what happened?

  16. If I do it by myself, am I supposed to memorize the chant in order for me to go into trance?
    How am I supposed to do It by myself if it’s possible

  17. I did this ritual with four other friends during a hang out. I didn’t participate myself but we tried it on two of our friends. The ritual is basically hypnosis and yes it does work so long as you’re fully relaxed and on the right mood to be “guided” in. However, I would personally plan out with your partner ( regardless of whether you’re acting the principle or the partner guiding them through ) how you’re going to be lead back from hypnosis and what to do in case of an emergency. When we did this ritual on the first friend, we weren’t quite sure what we were doing and when things went wrong, we rushed trying to lead them out to the real world and nearly lost them bringing them back. They were completely dazed when they returned, acting like they were given anesthesia and didn’t retun to normal until two hours later. So please take proper precautions and plan things out if you’re trying this for the first time. If anyone wants to know, I’ll tell you what both my friends witnessed during the ritual and what happened to them.

    1. If you don’t mind, I am rather curious for find out what happened to them because I’m thinking about playing this myself, and am trying to make a decision on whether or not to play it based off of other people’s experiences to see if I’m really willing to possibly face the things they did. You don’t have to if you want to, but if you don’t mind I’m more than happy to hear!

  18. How long are we supposed to rub the person’s temples and/or how long does it take them to be considered “ready”?

Leave a Reply

