The Most Dangerous Games: Elevator to Another World

OtisPreviously: The Dead Poet’s Game.

The game known colloquially as the Elevator Game appears to originate on a Korean website some may recognize as the source of a particular comic that pops up every few months or so on sites like Reddit. Unfortunately I don’t speak Korean, so working off of the rough translations found here and here, I’ve tried to tease out a clearer version of the rules and instructions.

[Like what you read? Consider supporting The Ghost In My Machine on Patreon!]

It’s unclear whether the Otherworld to which the elevator delivers you is the Shadowside referred to by FableForge in his various games and rituals, or whether it’s something else; regardless as to what it may or may not be, however, as always—play at your own risk. 

Players:

  • 1 principal

Requirements:

  • 1 building, at least 10 stories high, with an elevator. All three of these conditions must be met in order for the game to proceed.

Instructions:

Venturing Out:

  1. Enter your chosen building and get into the elevator on the first floor alone. Do not proceed if anyone else is in the elevator with you.
  2. Press the button for the fourth floor.
  3. When the elevator reaches the fourth floor, do not get out. Instead, remain in the elevator and press the button for the second floor.
  4. When you reach the second floor, remain in the elevator and press the button for the sixth floor.
  5. When you reach the sixth floor, remain in the elevator and press the button for the second floor.
  6. When you reach the second floor, remain in the elevator and press the button for the tenth floor.
  7. When you reach the tenth floor, remain in the elevator and press the button for the fifth floor.
  8. When you reach the fifth floor, a young woman may enter the elevator. Do not look at her; do not speak to her. She is not what she seems.
  9. Press the button for the first floor. If the elevator begins ascending to the tenth floor instead of descending to the first, you may proceed. If the elevator descends to the first floor, exit as soon as the doors open. Do not look back. Do not speak.
  10. If you reach the tenth floor, you may either choose to get off the elevator or to stay on it. If you choose to get off, and if the woman entered the elevator on the fifth floor, she will ask you, “Where are you going?” Do NOT answer her. Do NOT look at her.
  11. You will know whether you have arrived at the Otherworld by one indication, and one indication only: The only person present in it is you.

The Return Trip:

If you chose to stay on the elevator at the tenth floor:

  1. Press the button for the first floor. If it doesn’t work, keep pressing it until it finally does.
  2. When the elevator reaches the first floor, exit as soon as the doors open. Do not look back. Do not speak.

If you choose to exit the elevator at the tenth floor:

  1. You must use the same elevator to return as the one in which you arrived.
  2. When you enter the elevator, press the buttons in the same order you did in steps 2 through 8 of Venturing Out. You should finish at the fifth floor.
  3. When you reach the fifth floor, press the button for the first floor. The elevator will again begin to ascend to the tenth floor. Press any other floor’s button to cancel the ascension. You MUST press the button you use to cancel the ascension BEFORE you reach the tenth floor.
  4. After you reach the first floor, check your surroundings carefully. If anything seems off—even the smallest detail—do NOT exit the elevator. If you detect something wrong, repeat step 2 until your surroundings look as they should. Once you are confident you have returned to your own world, you may safely exit the elevator.

Additional Notes:

  • Should you reach the Otherworld, the floor onto which you will emerge will look almost identical to the one from your own world, save for two things: All the lights will be off, and the only thing you will be able to see from the windows is a red cross in the distance.
  • Some say that electronic devices—mobile phones, cameras, MP3 players, etc.—don’t work in the Otherworld; others say they do.
  • Getting back to your own world may be more difficult than it seems: You may become disoriented and forget which elevator in which you arrived; the elevator may seem to get further and further away from you as you walk towards; and so on. Be vigilant, and keep your wits about you.
  • If at any point during the ritual you faint, pass out, or otherwise lose consciousness, you will likely wake up in your own home. However, be sure to carefully examine your surroundings upon waking—the “home” to which you have been returned may not be the one you left when you first set out to attempt this ritual.

Concerning the Woman on the Fifth Floor:

Do NOT speak to her.

Do NOT look at her.

If you do, she may decide to keep you for her own.

Elevator to Another World: FAQ.

***

Support The Ghost In My Machine on Patreon for behind-the-scenes access and other bonus content. You can also follow on Twitter @GhostMachine13 and on Facebook @TheGhostInMyMachine.

[Photo via]

239 thoughts on “The Most Dangerous Games: Elevator to Another World

  1. So what if I was in the middle of traveling to the floors in the elevator alone say perhaps when I arrive at floor six and someone (not the beautiful woman expected at floor 5) gets in? I won’t be alone so would I have to try again from scratch once they leave?

    1. I have read it up and she has been known to disguise herself – even as someone you know – in a bid to trap you (by tricking you into thinking you should abort the ritual or that you’re safe to talk to her). I wouldn’t abort I would continue and end the ritual as quickly and efficiently as possible.

      1. Keeping you as her own means that she is going to kidnap you, dragging you to the other world and preventing you from returning to your own world, making her as one of her favorite “toys” or person.

        If a spirit likes you, they will do anything as long as they can get you (my brother was liked by a ghost of a elderly woman, but she was more like a guardian to him so it wasn’t a problem). If the spirit was kind-hearted, then you’re fine. But if it is an evil spirit…

        You’re done for.

        Sorry if I go off-topic, but basically, don’t make her keeping yourself as your own. Because if she did, nothing good will happen.

    2. If you have done it right which the lady would appear and ride with you for about the time while you enter the other world then she will leave and you will be all alone

    3. then it would not work and you would have to wait until they get off or you can restart the game completely when they get off. i think it would be better to play at 3-4 in the morning for a better experience and you should restart the game completely rather than continuing on.

    4. Yes because no one else can be in the elevator with you so once they get out you have to start from the beginning

  2. Hey everybody
    Anyone who wants to play the game he can just play it and it’s completely SAFE ’cause nothing really happens
    I played the game many times with my friends (taking turns) and nothing actually happened.
    But just be careful of one thing…..
    You may be kicked away from the building because people will start yelling at you for playing with the elevator. So be careful

      1. Bruh, she’s probably a demon or something that could kill you in an instant. Do NOT look at her or speak with her. And don’t even try hurting or killing her, it would be futile.

    1. Lol. I saw a woman from YouTube comments that doing this and she works together with the security so no one can go to the elevator.

  3. Alright tried it, but on the 8th Step, coming to 5th floor when a women enters, it didn’t happen but a lil girl entered while wearing headphones (Skullcandy maybe) and maybe listening to Imagine Dragons – Demons. So I thought that the ritual didn’t work, and pressed my flat floor 21 and when I pressed 21 the girl pressed 8 which 21-13 and offcourse it spooked me, now when I reached back on my floor I came out of elevator and looked back at the girl, she was not wearing a headphone and at first I thought she might have kept it in her pocket, but the Headphones were way big for a lil girl’s pant pocket. I was frightened and ran to my flat, rand the bell, my mum opened and I hurriedly went in. I didn’t talked to the girl. While having dinner I asked my mum if she has seen a little girl who lives on 8th floor and she said “Nobody lives on the 8th floor”. The sentence got me choked and I fell ill for a week. Since that day I my Scholastic scores are goin down however I was a good scholar and so does my family and friend relationship. Maybe I am in other world or the curse of the girl.

    1. The girl might’ve been visiting the restroom or something on that floor or you saw wrong or maybe she was playing around?

    2. OMG, that happened to me one time but there was a little girl who was quietly singing to herself and when I went to get off she pulled out a knife at me and cut me 2 times on the wrist 😥 DO NOT PLAY THE GAME!It was on the 10 floor I asked my mum if anyone lived on the 10th floor she said”nobody lives there it’s haunted”I freaked out and started to choke out of nowhere.Since then I always woke up laying down on the 10th floor!

      1. It means your positive energy is much more powerful than negative or you live in a purified place so stop impurity the place and try somewhere spooky

    3. You thinking too much in to it. You have no idea why that girl might of went in to the 8th floor. And you were probably too nervous and mistaken what she was wearing.

  4. 😂😂😂😂 I was trying to do that but on the fifth floor someone entered it was the security i thought it will be the women but it was him he took me out and he said what are you doing thus is not a game😂😂😂😂😂

    1. Could be but you now” any thing is possible” but as the guy said do not look at her or talk to her, and by the way does anyone know who actually the guy is

  5. I mean, I can translate the rest of the Korean post. But I’d recommend you not to look too much into this. There’s also several more warnings that are absolutely crucial. If you happen to read this comment, please add these;

    1. You must not, in any case, attempt this too many times. This makes you susceptible to accidental ‘slipping’ through the worlds.

    2. If you do not get out of the elevator on the 10th floor, or if the woman does not get in, you should head straight back down to the 1st floor.

    3. Sometimes, when you’re coming back, the elevator goes back up instead of down. You have to cancel the ascension by pressing any. button. between your current floor and the 10th and get off. The other is pulling you.

    4. If you faint in the other and find yourself back in your world- be careful. You can be pulled there and back at any given moment. This also happens to people with susceptible souls- or 기 in Korean.

    5. There’s also several other, simpler ways to do this- if wanted, I can translate the rest of these for you.

    1. Yes please, translate the rest 🙂 I really want to do this… Some part of me doesn’t believe that this actually works, and the other part of me is afraid that something goes wrong.

      1. The rest.. the other alternatives.. aren’t really recommendable. Most of them are mostly irrevocable. By that, I mean that there’s no way to return. There’s three alternatives; one uses a bathroom, the second uses a set of stairs in a school, and the third uses salt water and an elevator. Whatever you do, I’m just saying; even if it doesn’t work, it carries a great deal of risk. I wouldn’t recommend it. Just… do something low-risk. This one’s not even verified; no point in making yourself noticed if there’s no obvious result.

    2. What if you play with other people? Like two people in the elevator, would it still work? Or would nothing happen?

      1. Probably nothing will happen. See, there’s also a mention of how the ritual can be interrupted by someone else getting into the elevator in the middle of it. But, to be safe, just follow the rules.

      1. No idea. It differs from account to account. From a more personal account, a friend of mine told me she saw a small, hunched woman. But she couldn’t see the face.

      2. I remember reading a story on reddit about a guy who did this, and he accidentally looked at the woman and described her. If I am not wrong, her hair, nails are really long, she’s wearing a bloody white dress and her eyes are purple, also you could see some sort of energy around her

  6. Setting: at midnight in a random building.

    I went with my friends and i decided to man up and do it since they all couldnt handle going further after the second step. They waited for me down as i went up the elevator.

    I did exactly the steps. I didnt get to see any girl come in at any stage of the game. However at the 5th floor i heard someone moving at that floor, i exactly heard some plastic bags being moved. I quickly close the door and press the first floor as i was scared shitless at that point and then after reaching the 1st floor i rush over to my friends as i see the relief ontheir faces and told them ill never do dumb shit again.

    To me that ritual felt pretty fake its all psychological in my opinion. Really a thriller if youre that type of person but nothing too serious.

    1. I think that means you’re in the other world and need to get back to get back to the elevator as fast as possible. That or the woman has taken you for her own…But i’m not really sure this is just my 2 cents

  7. Hi guys a quick question for “venturing out”:
    Can the woman enter the otherworld after I leave the 10th floor? Because the world only has me in it, so I am assuming there is like some “barrier” between the elevator and the otherworld? In that case what would happen if I turn around after exiting the elevator at the 10th floor and then reply her question? Can someone help me try it out because I am quite afraid to do it myself, I don’t really want to die, the last time I tried the elevator ritual I nearly passed out but thankfully made it back from the otherworld, thanks!

  8. I would possibly try this on Halloween. This is the time of year when the veil between the real world and shadow world is at it’s thinnest.

    Also, try a building located on a charged ley line.

    The famous museum in Paris mentioned in the Davinci Code is located directly on the rose line. I wonder if it has 10 floors and an elevator.

    Washington, DC also is situated on some pretty interesting ley lines.

    Also, there’s an additional step not mentioned above. Apparently, you have to have salt water in your mouth as you attempt this ritual.

      1. I will get you one day affable goose and you will perish
        You will not escape that place ever again just waiting for you to come But still I will find ya

  9. This is other precautions I’ve read:
    1) if someone who isn’t the woman or is someone you think you know DO NOT ACKNOWLEDGE THEM. The woman has been known to disguise herself in an attempt to trap players by making them think they should stop the ritual, that it’s safe to leave before it actually is, or that it’s safe to talk to her.
    2) it’s not advisable to use an elevator with reflective surroundings as it’s easier to accidentally acknowledge her presence. If you must use one, focus entirely on the buttons and do not glance elsewhere even for a second.
    3) if you decide to leave the elevator once in the Otherworld, as well as asking where you are going the woman may shriek at you in an attempt to scare you into acknowledging her (looking back in fear/making a noise). Be sure you don’t do this.

    Have any of you heard of Elisa Lam? She displayed odd behaviour on cctv in an elevator shortly before disappearing and mysteriously showing up dead where it was near enough impossible for her to be. One speculation is that she was playing this game as she can be seen talking to someone who isn’t there.
    Please please please exercise caution when playing this.

    1. I was thinking about this for a while actually, but after watching the video a few times Elisa’s behavior isn’t consistent to what you have to do for this game. In the beginning of the video where Elisa first walks in, she doesn’t press the button to the fourth floor like the instructions say, but instead presses four buttons in order. She also doesn’t go to multiple floors like what instructions 1-7 say, but just starts acting strangely on the same floor she enters at. But I feel like it is possible she read this game but misread/interpreted the instructions.

      1. She may have been in the otherworld, trying to get out with no success. This would explain why the elevator door was open for so long, why she pressed buttons, and why she was continuously walking in and out the elevator, looking around the hallways. I think she may have even gotten posessed by the woman for looking at it/talking with it. She may have “kept her for her own” and drowned her? Also her being posessed would explain how she had the power to remove and put the lid back on the water tank. Obviously cameras weren’t able to record the otherworld, so she just seems weird. But I think this would be reasonable.

      2. Also notice how after Elisa Lam leaves the elevator that the doors don’t close? They simply remain open until she gets back inside.

  10. What do I do if it stops at a different floor in the middle, say floor three, and people get on? Is the game finished then? Do I need to do anything special?

    1. Normal people get in while you attempting ritual? Then you failed. Try playing it at midnight or so. Then no one comes in the room.
      Unless it’s a security ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡° )

  11. I read the FAQ for this. Turns out, you’re not safe in Otherworld; not for one second. But that brings up questions: Why are you not safe? Is there “things” coming for you? And, my favorite question: Should you carry a weapon when preforming this (gun, knife, etc….), to ensure your safety if things take a turn for the worst in Otherworld?

    1. For my experiences, Things in other planes can’t be affected by normal means, such as a gun or whatever. in other words ‘things in the shadow realm can usually only be affected by things in the shadow realm, but you are in their realm so they can affect you.’
      Don’t take my word as law though

    1. I think you can. However, although the music can help distract you from the fear, you will be less alert on your surrounding.

  12. Hey, assuming this is arranged for Americans?
    ‘Cause in New Zealand the floor of the building that you walk into off the street is called the ground floor, not the first floor. Is it the numbers or the actual physical level that is important?

  13. also if anyone knows what the “WOMAN” is if its satan death the reaper the devil whatever it is please tell me and half of me wants to say Hey its blooming real the other half says nope its all a load of crud so if you COULD post a video of YOU going there that would be great for all of us i do kind of belive but my mum says its all BS and that its not real i told her about Elisa’s death she still says no i dont know why:[

  14. I’m loading this on my phone, and going to use my phone to play this game in the elevator . using the recorder and see what happens . Wish me luck people.//////////////////////////////////////////////

  15. Hey guys…For ur information,I tried this yesterday at 2330.
    And for those who decided to try this out,I’m telling u guys please be very prepared..cause if this works out, the woman that enters the elevator at 5th floor won’t stop talking with a creepy voice. And when I reach the 10th floor ,it doesn’t goes as planned ,the door won’t open instead it went back to the 5th floor..I was terrified..and here what I really want to tell u..after it went back to the 5th floor..I want to get out asap so I pushed 1st floor and the elevator started to ascend so,I do what I was told ,that to push at random floor.but it still won’t stop..then I started pushing those floor like crazy..after that the elevator finally went to the 1st floor…I was relieve af..I’m just talking from experience so that u know..

  16. I just remember..plus, if u wanted to reply to the woman..u can just reply it in ur mind..I realize this when I was pushing those floor like crazy…at that time the woman was laughing at me, and i say this in my head “STFU I dont care about u”..she reply (laughing voice) u dont care about me?

  17. something is very off here… last time I read this article, the returning required a reverse order..lik:1-5-10-2-6-2-4-1..what happened with that version..I think I read that here o.O

  18. If you happen to visit this other world can you leave the building and explore…? I don’t have access to a 10 story building just wondering if there are any theories on this.

  19. I played I’m learning my lesson and as y’all say “she” (IT) has not gone away. It’s annoying but you can live with what comes back if you make mistakes. Don’t panic if you do mess up. Think it through and proceed carefully. Get out and don’t go back.

  20. Can we leave the lift at tenth floor,and there comes a new world what happens if follows us at the tenth floor she will us or trap us!

  21. What if the building you want to use doesn’t start on floor “1” but floor “L”, the lobby, and goes up to floor “9”? And you don’t have the option of finding another building. Could you use floor “L” as floor “1”? and floor “9” as floor “10”? or do they have to have those specific numbers?

  22. What if you wanted to stay in that other world? Are there any consequences? Or is it unknown and will never be known because no one ever came back?

  23. On the FAQ it said that staying in the Other World was dangerous? What could be so dangerous about it? The Other World is a place where only you exist; therefore, no creature with a consciousness would hurt you. is the climate different? Are natural disasters more common in the Other World? Does the Other World somehow have an effect on foreign objects/bodies?

    I understand, of course, if this question cannot be given a full or correct answer.

    1. The way that I heard it is because it’s so empty. If you’re trapped there, there’s no food, no water- no anything. Also, it’s an imperfect reality, and that makes the dimension itself dangerous in long periods of time.

  24. wait, if you do it with more than one person, but you take a different elevators in the same building, will you eventually meet them in the Other World?

Leave a Reply

